Seaview House was built in 1875. It was initially a single-storey greengrocer’s shop and dwelling. The dwelling, with its verandah, picket fence and gate, faced Hesse Street. The shop entrances were at the corner and in Stokes Street.
In 1890, a second storey was added to the building. Iron balustrades and lace work were added, and the picket fence was replaced with a corrugated iron one. The enlarged residence became the Seaview Coffee Palace. Seaview Coffee Palace was Queenscliff’s first taste of the famous coffee palaces or temperance hotels of the times.
Today, Seaview Art and Craft Gallery occupy the downstairs space that belonged to the original greengrocery shop. The remainder of the building, now known as ‘Seaview House’, operates as a charming group accommodation of 15 bedrooms sleeping up to 35 guests.